Guitole-One of the ancient place in Lalitpur City

Guitole-One of the ancient place in Lalitpur City

Are you unaware of the history of the Guitole? You can get a more interesting story of Guitole-One of the ancient place in Lalitpur City. You will be amazed to know the story of this place as it has its own story.

Lalitpur Metropolitan City is the fourth most populous city of Nepal after Kathmandu, Pokhara and Bharatpur. Lalitpur city is located in the south-central part of Kathmandu Valley. In state no 3, Lalitpur is one of the most developed districts in Nepal. Lalitpur District has been divided into various townships and municipalities for development. Lalitpur Metropolitan Municipality is an older and more developed municipality.

Guitole- one of the ancient place in lalitpur city

One of the ancient places in Lalitpur city is Guitole aka Guita Twa lies in ward no 8, one of the 29 wards in Lalitpur Metropolitan City. Ward no 8 office is located 5 km south of Tribhuvan International Airport. In Newari ‘गु’ (gu) means nine which is why, Guitole universal bliss has nine chaityas, nine hitis, nine ponds, nine falchas, nine guthis, nine monasteries and nine places. In past days there was also a nine-storied palace.

Guitole-One of the ancient place in Lalitpur City

Guita is part of the mid-city but away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The narrow lanes of the inner slums lead to a quiet and open square where cars rarely enter. A place untouched by the rush of the city. Far away, this place has not been touched by the hustle and bustle of the city. Here people are found sitting carelessly in their lake. Men and women are found humming together in their groups. Guita is about a ten-minute walk from Mangalbazar, Patan, which is crowded from morning to evening: When you arrive, it seems that the speed of time has stopped here.

Guita tadhau falcha
The settlement of Guitole was settled by King Sarvananda. King Sarvananda established nine chaityas, nine wells, nine hitis, nine ponds, nine falchas (pati), nine guthis and nine monasteries and temples there. His palace was also in this place. That is why it is called Guita. Gungu means nine in the Nepal Bhasa. The whole story of how King Sarvananda settled this settlement is described in an old Pauba which is made of cloth.


Paubha picture shows the post-death events — Dhanlya: The age of the dead person is being tested in Hiti (a traditional tap). Yamaraj, the king of Yamaloka, is showing the way to hell to the sinners by weighing their sins and virtues, the door of heaven is opening for the devoted souls. There are 16 types of hell. Do we ever think when we sin?

Dhanlya Hiti

In Tapan Naraka, two Yamadutas hold hands and legs and roast them over the fire, just as we open the skin of a chicken and hang it upside down over the fire. Shortly, a potato is dipped in boiling water, just as we scald a potato in hot water.

In the Kalasutra Hell, two Yamadutas are strangled by Uttana, just as we strangle a chicken’s neck. There is also a hell where the soul bursts with cold and heat leaks from the fat of the soul. Some are put on the floor and their legs are covered with blood. While others submerged half of their body in water and the other half is stung all at once. The Paubha picture of Guitole and King Vrishadeva’s journey to Yamaloka reflects an important practice in Buddhism, which is Maranusmriti, the awareness that one must die one day.

Paubha: The picture also teaches karma and karmafal. As a man sows a seed, so does a plant grow, and as he does, he reaps the same fruit. The result of skilful action is happy, and the result of unskillful action is sad. Scenes of various hells are depicted to convey the message that if one commits a sin, one can suffer severe hell.

You can follow Guitole Facebook page for more posts.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *